Jesus is not my homie: sovereignty

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord, high and exalted, seated on a throne; and the train of his robe filled the temple. Above him were seraphim, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. And they were calling to one another:

“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.”

At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.” ~Isaiah 6:1-5~

I’ve always loved Isaiah 6. I love everything about it; the meaning, the imagery, the poetry. It’s just beautiful. I wish I were a better painter. I can see it in my head it’s just such a perfect picture of who we are, but more importantly who God is. I mean we think of God a lot of times in terms of “he’s my best friend.” Absolutely. He absolutely IS my best friend, but we have to remember who he is as the creator and RULER of the universe as well.

Sometimes when I am alone with God it’s almost like being wrapped in his arms. It’s restful and peaceful and comforting. I feel warm and safe, and it’s easy to forget he’s sitting on a throne above all of creation. You have to realize he is so much more than warm fuzzies and wooing his creation. I mean he IS wooing and he is MADLY in love with you. That is all true, but we cannot forget his sovereignty. He is holy.

He’s not just holy, but according to the bible “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.” (Isaiah 6:3) We as Christians are holy because Jesus makes us holy. We get one holy. God gets three holies. Everything that is in the bible is intentional and meaningful. There are 3 holies for two reasons I believe. The first is this: There are three persons of God (Father, Son, Holy Spirit). Therefore three persons equal three holies. The second reason is that biblically speaking the number 3 is the number of completion. Completion, in this instance, should probably more appropriately be stated as wholly holy. His holiness is complete. He is 100% holy. He is the definition of holy.

I actually struggle with this. His sovereignty sometimes makes me feel detached from him. He’s so much higher than I am. I can feel (at an exponentially smaller degree since I’ve never been in the throne room of God) how Isaiah felt when he stood in the presence of God. “Woe is me, for I am undone! Because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.” (Isaiah 6:5)  I am not good enough, but I’d like to try to give you a slightly different perspective.

Imagine a father. Now imagine that this father is best friends with his child; never acts like a father, just like a friend. As soon as the child learns that his father won’t discipline him he begins to act out and do whatever he wants because there are no consequences to his actions. It may even go so far as the father acting out with the child just to maintain the perceived (distorted) relationship. Now let’s think about the father who acts as a father first and a friend second. The child will respect and obey much more when the roles are clearly defined as father and son. It doesn’t mean that the father can’t be the child’s best friend, it just means that his role is to first be the example and rule setter.

I think this is a great picture of the role of God in our lives as well. I believe that God created the roles of relationships for our benefit so that we can know him and understand him better. So while God is the nurturer and lover of my soul, he is also the father and the disciplinarian. He is the rule maker. The definition of what is acceptable and right. When you fall off your bike dad hugs you and tells you you’re ok, but he’s also the one who grounds you or whoops you when you break one of his rules.

Let me paint you a picture. There is God in all his magnificence seated upon the throne above all of creation. Surrounding the throne of God are angels known as seraphim. The word seraphim means burning ones. I believe this is literal and figurative. I think these angels shine like bright lights, and they worship with burning passion. They passionately worship for two reasons. One reason is that, well, they are in the presence of GOD almighty in all his magnificent brilliance!! And secondly, that is what they were created to do. So here is God on his throne and his magnificent brilliance is so bright that even these angels, who are literally named burning ones, have to cover their eyes, but not just because the light of God is so bright. “For the seraph remembers that even though sinless he is yet a creature, and therefore he conceals himself in token of his nothingness and unworthiness in the presence of the thrice Holy One.” (Charles Spurgeon)  See creation, whether sinful or sinless, must still always be in submission to the creator. Regardless of sin we (people and angels alike) will always be less than the one who created us. So it shouldn’t take away from our closeness to God but add to it because we understand more clearly the nature of God. And deeper understanding always leads to deeper intimacy, and intimacy is directly related to love.

There are so many sides to God and so many glimpses he gives us into his character and his being that are evident in every life form, every relationship, every passion. He wants to be close to us so he uses all that he has created to show us more about who he is. We won’t know him completely until heaven. “Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.” (1 Cor. 13:12) But he longs for intimacy now, here “on earth as it is in heaven.” (Matt. 6:10) And we get there by “thy will be done.” (Matt. 6:10) Submission of created to the creator. Your will, Lord. Every day.


jesus is not my homie: sovereignty| written by: jaime meeks

connect with me on my weekly blog @ http://www.jaimerenee.com

4 thoughts on “Jesus is not my homie: sovereignty

  1. Great post! I think it can be so hard to get a clear picture of who God is because we relate what we know of Him to what we know of people. Our fathers, our rule-makers, the people who love us. The Bible is the only place where we can really understand who He is. He is perfect and loves us, yet disciplines us out of love. It can be hard to grasp those things based on the people in our lives so we have to continually learn who He is from the only place we really can. I struggle with both sides. The lover of my soul and the ruler of my life. Thanks for sharing your heart.

  2. Love this post and totally agree 100% with you! God IS our best friend and lover of our souls. But He is also GOD over the universe! Jesus said in the word that we were to fear the one who is able to put our souls in hell (paraphrasing) Matthew 10:28. There is a healthy fear we are to have of God.
    Anyways, like you said there are many sides to God, and to only see just one side is to perceive not correctly. There are some who think God is only hugs and kisses all the time….so that side tend to swing extreme to that way thinking. But then there is the other side who thinks God is only harsh and very strict…..this is another extreme. There is a balance to it…and just like our own earthly fathers, God corrects when He needs to, but yet is loving and merciful more than we could ever deserve! He is such a good God! Even His correction is good because it leads us back to the right path! In my experiences with God; He is very, very loving and merciful to me (and the lover of my soul) but at the same time I have seen His hand of correction in my life. Thanks for the article!

Leave a Reply

