the day i visited jesus at the hospital

I hate going to the hospital. Let me say that again; I hate going to the hospital! I took the time to underline the word, hate, because it’s a point I want to emphasize. You see, hospitals are not something I enjoy. In fact, I am not even sure why people work at hospitals. There’s blood and sickness all over that place. Sure, that’s where babies are born too and that’s part of miracle of life but still.

I understand some people love being doctors and nurses and they love being able to “heal” people or “bandage” them up but it’s not something I enjoy. I try my hardest to not be in the hospital. I do my absolute best to be there once a year for my yearly check-up.

Well I was at the hospital this past weekend. I spent a good portion of my Saturday there as well. You see, a friend of mine wasn’t doing well and I wanted to visit. I already had plans set up for the late morning so I thought I would swing by, pop in, say hello and be on my way. I planned for a short visit; probably about an hour or so and then I would be on my way. Besides, I had other things to do like shop for more clothing and get groceries.

As I was traveling towards the hospital, I realized that I wasn’t simply visiting a friend but that I was also visiting Jesus. You see, the Word of God is quite clear on this matter as Jesus spoke of this.

Matthew 25:31-40|

“But when the Son of Mancomes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit upon his glorious throne. All the nationswill be gathered in his presence, and he will separate the people as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will place the sheep at his right hand and the goats at his left.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world. For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’

“Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you something to drink? Or a stranger and show you hospitality? Or naked and give you clothing? When did we ever see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ “And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters,you were doing it to me!’

So, I want to share a small story about the day I visited Jesus in the hospital. I don’t want to share this for any praise of man or to make myself look as if I am better than anyone else because I am not! I want us all to consider the implications of seeing Jesus in those around us.

Jesus really blew my mind the day I went to the hospital. While I had initially planned for a short visit, Jesus asked how long I was going to stay. I responded with my own question and asked, “How long would you like me to stay?” Jesus said “I want you to stay for a while.” So I went ahead and texted my friend and said I wasn’t going to be able to meet up and we could reschedule. My friend was cool with that.

First off, Jesus was excited to see me as evident with a huge smile that overtook his face, after he was finished watching Dora the Explorer (one of his favorite TV shows).

Secondly, Jesus loves bacon and watermelon for breakfast. An odd combination perhaps but hey, he enjoyed it!

Third, Jesus loved talking and visiting with me. You’d think that someone who already knows everything about you would be more interested in just chilling out maybe watching TV or something but quite the contrary, Jesus engaged in conversation with me!

Forth, Jesus hates getting blood work done! Jesus doesn’t like needles and so I guess he and I are a lot alike in that manner.

Fifth, Jesus really enjoys being pulled in the red wagons throughout the hospital and really loved when I ran as fast as I could down the hallways. I probably shouldn’t be doing that but oh well. I wasn’t caught!

Sixth, Jesus was quite interested in a painting I did. When I revealed my artwork, Jesus was quite surprised. You see, I had painted a picture earlier in the week and took a picture of it. The painting was actually just a white piece of paper with paint that said, “This is my painting. Pretty cool huh?”

Jesus looked at me kind of funny and said, “Words are your painting?” That’s a pretty deep statement too since my work of art is done through my blogs and other writings. Jesus is pretty smart I guess.

As the day went on, I realized I had to get going. I still had a few things to get accomplished so I told Jesus I needed to get going. Jesus looked kind of sad in that moment and said, “I don’t want you to go. But I hope you come back.”

Jesus doesn’t want us to leave him. Not while he’s not feeling well in the hospital or sick. He doesn’t want us to leave when he’s in prison. He really appreciates the meals we cook for him because he hasn’t eaten in days. He thanks those of you who gave him a place to stay and a blanket to keep him warm.


 

The day I visited Jesus at the hospital| Written by Mike Monica

All Scriptures taken from the New International Version (1984)

One thought on “the day i visited jesus at the hospital

Leave a Reply

