the day jesus lost his mind

“Though we are incomplete, God loves us completely. Though we are imperfect, He loves us perfectly. Though we may feel lost and without compass, God’s love encompasses us completely. He loves every one of us, even those who are flawed, rejected, awkward, sorrowful, or broken.”
Dieter F. Uchtdorf

First I want to begin with this question-do you have or have you ever had someone in your life that drives you crazy? (Your children don’t count either 😛

Here’s a story I would like to share. A few years back while I was working in the retail industry, I would meet such a person who drove me insane! This individual was hired about a year and a half after I was. Due to our positions in the company, we didn’t have much interaction but that all changed.

I had heard quite a bit about this person and here is the thing about him-He was, for the most part, a nice guy. He was fairly easy to get along with and he was fairly nice to the customers and other co-workers. But I did say, “For the most part.”

You see, this person seemed to have an ability to be nice to other customers and co-workers when he wanted to be but there were certain people that he would simply be rude to, for no reason whatsoever. I heard and witnesses countless times things that were done and said which should have gotten him fired. Although nothing was ever done against him.

The co-workers would argue with him and complain to management but still nothing would ever happen. Inconsistency is one of those things that drives me crazy! This guy was the definition of inconsistency too.

As time went on and he and I had more interactions, tension was created and grew between us. One of the strangest things is that he and I could have a good day and out of the blue, he would say or do something that would irritate me and then our day went downhill from there.

There were several occasions in which he would yell at me and while I would “talk back” I did so in the most professional manner I could. Although I admit that I was out of line sometimes.

Then, one day, everything changed.

I remember waking up and going through my typical routine for the day. Which meant, I got up, worked out for about 45 minutes, took a shower, ate breakfast and began working on school work. In the mid afternoon, I was off to work.

To me, it was just another day. I began work without any issue but it wasn’t long before this guy said something that just made me lose my cool again. I simply couldn’t stand that fact that he was allowed to say and do things with no repercussions.

So my day went from an average day to a bad day at work and it was all because some co-worker drove me crazy. Then, I had an older gentlemen approach me. He had completed his shopping and I was ensuring everything was in order (which it was).

I then said, “Have a nice day.” as if I really even cared. The man looked at me and said “Smile, its Good Friday!” Those four words changed everything!

Good Friday was a day unlike any other. Good Friday was a day of torment, torture, and a day to remember how deep the love of God really is for lost sinners.

My perspective changed because I realized in that moment that Good Friday was the day Jesus lost his mind. Yes, Jesus went crazy and Jesus brings crazy to a whole new level!

2 Corinthians 5:15:

“He (Jesus) died for everyone so that those who receive his new life will no longer live for themselves. Instead, they will live for Christ, who died and was raised for them.”

[Jesus is crazy enough to die for everyone!]

Jesus died for everyone, including the co-worker who drove me crazy and the people who cut me off when I’m driving. How in the world they have obtained their driver’s licenses is beyond me! He died for those who would live simply to hurt other people. Jesus is crazy enough to die for those who live in opposition to who he is and what he did. He died, not for a select few, but for all!

Jesus died for our sins before we even committed them!

[Jesus is crazy enough to rise from the dead!]

Jesus didn’t simply die for people, he came back for people! Jesus’ final cry on the cross was, “It is finished!” The work of salvation has been completed by the Son. The curse of the law and the power of sin broken because of Son of God came and fulfilled the obligations necessary for a once and for all sacrifice.

The resurrection from the dead was the Father’s response to the Son’s cry, “It is finished.” Jesus is alive, Jesus reigns forever, and Jesus defeated death. Jesus now lives in the hearts of those who received him. The one thing God wants from us is to believe in the one he sent. (John 6:29)

[Jesus is crazy enough to give us new life!]

God, in the Person of Christ, did more than simply die on our behalf and secure victory via the resurrection but also enables us to live for him! We are given a new life that we might respond to living the way Christ lived-by loving others.

God asks us to forgive others-even our crazy co-workers, our leaders, our supervisors and everyone else we can’t stand. Jesus lost his mind on Good Friday because that’s what love does. Love makes you crazy enough to give people a new start. Love compels you to reach out to others. Love is willing to fight the battles we can’t win and love never fails.

Leave a Reply

