what are you fighting for? (an urgent prayer request)

“I write of faith but his is true and fierce.”

“As I lay me down to sleep I pray the Lord my soul to keep; if I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take.” Just about anyone who grew up in church would immediately recognize that prayer. When I first heard and began to memorize this prayer I thought it was a plea to God to accept me in spite of all my failures.

To be honest, I thought that when I did recite this prayer that I would, for some unholy reason, die during the night. God would face me and accept me into heaven based upon my sincerity of the prayer. So I always went to bed wondering if I really meant the prayer and if I was really, truly sorry for all the sins I had committed during the day.

I lived in the constant fear of death. That fear continued to grip me throughout my years during high school too but only during the times I was running from God. The simple truth is I lived in my own little world and held on to a plastic faith and an empty hope that offered me nothing.

Of course, I’m getting off track here. This isn’t about me; it’s about my friend Jake Lusona. I’ve known Jake for many, many years. Jake is an awesome young man and if you met him, you know that is one of the coolest guys in the world.

Jake was born with a genetic disorder, Cystic Fibrosis, which affects the lungs, pancreas, liver, and intestine. Jake has lived with this his whole life and still he remains positive and upbeat. A while back, Jake began the process of getting a Lung Transplant, which is necessary as CF worsens.

Jake doesn’t know I’m writing this blog for him. I’m not doing it to be a better friend but because I believe in Jake. I believe this world is a better place because Jake is in it. Jake and I aren’t best friends but I know I love him and I believe in standing beside him in this venture.

Lung Transplant operations are not cheap. Jake is in the process of raising money for this operation. He’s also raising awareness of Cystic Fibrosis. If you would like more information on this disorder, please check out this site: http://www.lungsforlife.org/

So, I am blogging about a friend of mine and asking you to pray for him. Pray for healing, pray for his disorder and pray for his fiancé. Yes, Jake is engaged and is planning to be married later this year. Pray for Jake and if you feel led please consider supporting Jake with a financial gift. There is no amount that is too small.

For your convince, I have added a link to accomplish this here: http://www.gofundme.com/800w3o

 

One thought on “what are you fighting for? (an urgent prayer request)

  1. keijo leppioja says:

    So alot the fight we all have in troubles and are to give sorrow and and hopeless and no out way from darknes to the people of God too and we have wonderfiul gift to pray and asking freedom from all struggles and God love our ttust to him and and will set us in blessing again and new joy in the morning with grace and power to move on ,thanks and bless and win,keijo sweden

Leave a Reply

