trust fall

This is a guest post from Angie Gardner. Please check out her blog website at http://angelagardnerwrites.blogspot.com/

“The best way to find out if you can trust somebody is to trust them.” – Earnest Hemingway

In the interest of being completely honest, I must admit that I write about trusting God more than any other topic. And, though I write and think and talk about trusting God routinely, I still act as a novice in this endeavor. I know I’m not the only one, though. We’re all trying to figure this one out.

It makes me think of the one and only time I rode the Hulk rollercoaster at Universal Studios. As soon as the ride shot away from the platform, I knew I had made a mistake. I didn’t know how to ride a roller coaster like this one, so my head banged around inside the seat guards like a clacker inside a bell. The ride ended and I staggered off, stunned.

Part of the problem with the ride was that I didn’t know what was coming next. Flips, turns, spirals, and plunges were catapulted in my direction. All I could do is hold on and pray that I wouldn’t die. I know that sounds dramatic, but it felt dramatic. Roller coasters are always tricky for me.

I want to be adventurous. I want to have fun. However, I don’t want to be scared, and lots of roller coasters scare me. Even on my favorite roller coaster, Thunder Mountain at Disney World, I grip the rail inside the car for dear life while I squeeze my eyes shut. I’m always a little jealous of the people who hop on the rides and throw their hands up without a care. I went to Six Flags last summer with a friend and her grand kids. The kids threw their hands up and laughed on every ride. They were having an absolute blast! Oh to be that carefree!

While I was wondering how well the roller coaster did on the last official inspection (no loose bolts, please), the kids were having the times of their lives. Why? Because they so trusted the grownup taking them to the theme park, they didn’t even consider that anything bad could happen. They didn’t worry about quality inspections or bolts or impending danger, because they trusted that their Dad and Mimi wouldn’t put them in danger. These smiling, fresh-faced kids showed me the power of trust. By trusting the grownups in their lives, they had an incredible time at the theme park. Their smiles on that day were a reminder to me of the kind of joy I could have if I trusted God the way they trusted their parents.

Think about it. How different would your life be if you stopped gripping the sides of the car and threw your hands into the rushing wind with a laugh? This is not something I’ve perfected yet, but even though it is a constant struggle, it’s worth the fight. Whenever the terrifying dips and spirals of life begin to make me fret, I want to take a minute to remember the looks of sheer joy on the kids’ faces as the coasters whirled them around a track at top speed. Release and let go to experience the incomprehensible joy of the Lord.

Challenge: What difficulties in life cause you to hold on for dear life? Ask God to help you release your grip and trust Him.

3 thoughts on “trust fall

Leave a Reply

